You are:

Programme and speakers announced for Dublin 2012

22 February 2012

The European Academy of Optometry and Optics (EAOO) has published the programme for its next conference in Dublin, set to take place from 20-22 April 2012.

This event will bring together key decision-makers, influencers, educators, researchers and students from across Europe to discuss and share the latest research and best-practice relating to optics, optometry and vision sciences.

Dublin 2012 will feature keynote lectures from Professor Pablo Artal (University of Murcia, Spain) on adaptive optics with a focus on new research; and Dr Kathryn Saunders (University of Ulster, UK) on clinical practice in relation to paediatric care.

Over 40 speakers from around the world will present at Dublin 2012, including:

  • Professor Holger Dietze, Beuth Hochschule, Germany
  • Philip Fine, Hadassah Academic College, Israel
  • Dr Annemieke Coops, Dutch Optometric Association, Netherlands
  • Dr Marie Bodack, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Centre, USA
  • Professor Roger Kamen, Michigan College of Optometry, USA
  • Dr James Loughman, Dublin Institute of Technology, Ireland

In a bid to strengthen the organisation’s international partnerships, the EAOO is hosting the welcome reception with the American Academy of Optometry (AAO), and the members’ annual gala dinner with the Association of Optometrists Ireland (AOI).

Barry Lawler, AOI President, said: “This international event is an exciting opportunity for Irish optometrists. Whereas we would normally have to travel abroad for such an experience, we have our international colleagues coming to us. As well as education, it provides a rare chance to meet with optometrists from many countries, have a chat, share experiences and make new friendships.”

“This really is a major occasion in the optometric profession and I would strongly encourage people to make the most of this opportunity.”

Lois Schoenbrun, Executive Director of the AAO, added: “The American Academy of Optometry is pleased to support this event. President Dr Karla Zadnik and President-Elect Dr Bernie Dolan will attend the conference and both are excited to plan future interactions between our Academies.”

The programme includes:

  • workshops at the Dublin Institute of Technology, including checking and dispensing prisms; slit lamp ophthalmoscopy; and detection and management of lid margin disease
  • discussion forums, including integrating optometry into primary care; creating uniformity and high level scope of optometric practice in the US; and optometry in the Netherlands
  • case studies, including 3-D optic nerve head interpretations; contact lens fitting; and personalisation
  • academic and research sessions, including myopia onset prediction in school children; the relationship between optical factors on accommodative responses in children with Down’s syndrome; and factors associated with adjustment to visual loss
  • members’ only Special Interest Group (SIG) sessions
  • over 70 poster presentations.

Professor Roger Crelier, President of the Academy, said: “I am very excited about the programme we have put together, the calibre of presenters and range of topics that will be covered at the event. I am confident that there will be something of interest here for everyone working in optometry and optics in Europe and beyond.”

“Dublin 2012 will provide a forum to share research, information and best practice, and is a fantastic opportunity to meet, and collaborate with, other professionals from across Europe. I hope to see you there!”

Certificates of attendance will be awarded to all delegates and may be used as evidence in local continuing professional development schemes (CPD/CET).

The full programme and booking details can be found at

Return to news listings


Academy Fellowship 2016-2017

6 October 2016

Applications to become an Academy Fellow for 2016-17 are now open and will close on December 31st 2016. Fellowship application guidelines for 2016-2017 is available here

If you are interested in becoming a Fellow in 2017 then please register your interest